JanieL
Newly Registered

Cucumber Plant

Well, if you read my intro, I accidentally pulled two cucumber vines, not knowing what they were. But, in viewing some pictures I saw that some gardeners use those lattice walls to hold up the vines. Is that typcial? I only have those for the tomatoes which by the way are growing very slow. Also, I'm confused and wonder which are weeds and which are actually plants. I'm learning as I do this. AND I read that it wasn't too late to plant corn. I live in San Antonio, Tx and the weather here is unusual for this time of year... lots and lots of rain combined with high humidity.

Thanks for reading! :D

nes
Green Thumb

It takes a while to learn weed/wanted-plant, I'm still learning & I've been in this house with the same weeds for 3 summers :).

Mostly my motto is: if it's in the way of something I know I want, or there are several of them in another spot of the garden; it's a weed! :)

GL

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I don't know about typical, but the cucumber vines take up a lot of room if allowed to sprawl all over. Growing them vertically instead of horizontally is a lot more space efficient. Also the cucumber fruit can tend to rot out if sitting on the ground (especially for those of us in rainy/ high humidity areas); trellising them avoids that.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Growing them vertically instead of horizontally is a lot more space efficient. Also the cucumber fruit can tend to rot out if sitting on the ground (especially for those of us in rainy/ high humidity areas);
Here is a good point. Things can very considerably depending on where your garden is and the local conditions. Here in dry Utah, I just let the cukes sprawl on the ground, and have never seen one rot as you say.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb