tedln
Super Green Thumb

What to grow where and when!

I see a lot of questions on this forum asking if someone can grow a specific vegetable in a specific area. I was doing a little research on some things today and stumbled on a link at "Mother Earth News" website. They performed a national survey asking only four simple questions about peoples gardens and with the information provided, they generated a United States, regional, map listing the top ten garden crops for each area. They also listed some unusual crops people grow in areas thought to not be good for that crop. Check it out, you may find it interesting. I was shocked to find garlic is one of the most common top ten crops. Chard is also listed in most top tens in popularity and ease to grow. After forty years of gardening, this is my first year to grow either.

https://www.motherearthnews.com/Best-Regional-Crops.aspx

Ted

Dixana
Greener Thumb

Pretty interesting, but not surprisingto me. They hit the nail on the head about midwesterners not growing corn at home.. Why bother using at that space in our yard when it's cheap and yummy from the farmers market? ;)

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

That's a good read Ted. Thank you for the link.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Doesn't surprise me about the chard. I had never heard of Swiss chard until I found it in garden catalog (over a decade ago now) and decided to try growing it. But it rapidly became my favorite thing to grow. So easy and productive! Nothing bothers it and it just keeps going and going from before the last spring frost to after the first fall frost. What more could you ask!

tedln
Super Green Thumb