Walthree

Cool Weather Veggies

I'm in in Staten Island, New York, zone 6b. I planted by spinach, lettuces, carrots and peas on time. The weather has not been the best here. Alot of rain and very little sun. I was hoping to plant my summer stuff in the ground soon. Since the cool weather veggies have not grown should I take them out of the ground. They look good just havent come along in growth. As the weather is getting warmer here, will they just wilt and die. We are in the 70's now. This week we are in the 80's. I am new to gardening so not sure if I just let it ride. How long should I wait until I take them out.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I don't know what you mean by "on time." When did you plant your cool weather crops? When you say they haven't grown, do you mean they never sprouted or how big are they?

They will not wilt and die in temps in the 80's. What they will do is not last real long, tend to bolt, go to flower/seed pretty rapidly.

If they are healthy and growing and you have somewhere else to plant the warm weather things, I'd let it ride.

If none of those things are true, maybe give up on them and try again at the end of the season for a fall crop of cool weather veggies.
Last edited by rainbowgardener on Fri May 07, 2010 12:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

I'm not totally sure what to tell you either.

My cool crops have sat dormant for month's but now that it is warming up they are starting to grow, yeah figure that one out. So since I don't know you specific needs. I would say wait it out a bit if you can. Or as Apple said find somewhere else for the summer crops if you can.

Good luck