bnew17
Newly Registered

How to keep deer out of garden?

Ive got about a 1/4 acre garden full of peas, corn, melons that I planted 3 weeks ago… well everything is about ankle high now and I noticed that there were deer tracts out there and some of the peas had been nipped off. I live out in the country so I'm not real suprised but this is my first year having a garden out in the country. Ive got the works to make a scarecrow…will that keep the deer out or should I do something else along with it? I also bought 2 bags of Milorganite and spread it out there and I also tore 4 rags off an old t-shirt and soaked them in some strong cologne. I tied one on each hand of the scare crow and the other 2 on limbs on both sides of the garden. We will have to see how it works….

does anybody have any other ideas?

jkkfam89

jkkfam89 wrote:
Also, I have a lot of deer come through the yard!!! What should I do so they don't eat my FOOD? I was think of planting a spot for the deer in the woods so they leave mine alone?

There's stuff called liquid Deer fence, you put it in a graden sprayer and spray your vegies with it. There are no harmful chemicals in it. It is expensive but 1 qt jar last us the whole season. It sticks really bad when you spray it but once it dries you can't smell it. We spray once every 4-6 weeks, and the deer won't touch anything that has been sprayed. I will swear by this stuff, it reall works

Here is an answer I got from my thread!

rkunsaw

An electric fence works.If you are growing corn,cantalop, or watermelon you'll probably have a problem with racoons too.They make an electric fence for gardens that work with a 6 volt lantern battery.Good luck.

Hispoptart