reneeleann

Slow growing garden

Hello everyone. This is my first year with a vegetable garden and I am a little lost right now and was hoping for some advice. I planted my garden in a raised bed and filled it with gardeners soil from a local dirt company. I believe the soil is a mix of clean dirt, organic compost, and a little sand.

We planted our garden around the 15th of March and we are in Austin, Texas, zone 8. Our days are high 70's to low 80's and my garden gets full sun with some shade (mid-day) from the fence behind it. I am growing tomatoes (cherry, roma, and regular); okra, peppers (sweet, hot, and jabanero); strawberries; carrots, onions; peas; and beans int he raised bed but I am not sure they are doing ok. I fertilize them once a month with a Scott's 10-10-10 (granular) for vegetables and would like to start going organic but did this for ease in the beginning. I water every other day unless the dirt looks dry.

Two of my tomato plants (the ones with the most shade) are about a foot tall and look healthy but the rest of the plants are a light green to yellow look and are between 2" to 4" tall. I know the soil does not have nutrients in it and I have buried some compost between the rows to help the next seasons crops but I am lost. Why are my plants not growing? Is this normal or are they deficient in nutrients? DO they need more shade? Please help!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

No, it is not normal, should be a lot bigger by now. Small slow growing and light green to yellow, definitely sounds like soil fertility problems and lack of nitrogen. I would not think the heat is a problem for any of it yet, except maybe the peas, which are a cool weather crop and tend to fizzle out as soon as it gets hot. The mid-day shade will be a big plus later on when you get to Texas summer.