gundogblue
Cool Member

New Gardener with basic questions

Hi all,
I'm new to gardening and tomorrow I'm gonna roto till for the first time my new garden, it's only 20ft by 20ft and virgin ground with the grass still on it. After I get it tilled can you please give me some advice on what I should mix with the soil like pete moss, furtilizers ect also I live just south of Chicago so am I correct to wait until the end of May before I plant my tomatoes? Any other advice or tips you can think of for a new gardener will be greatly appriciated.
Thanks so much,
Paul :lol: :flower:

gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

Compost compost compost, that is 3 great thing to add to new soil. Tat will get the microbiology in the soil jump started. As well as adding tilth to you soil.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Best single thing you can do for your garden is start a compost pile! Browse in our compost forum if you aren't familiar with composting. But that won't help you for right now. If you start now, you will have some compost ready for fall.

For right now you have a couple different choices to get started: till or no-till. Tilling up the garden is the traditional way to start. It you do that, you will turn up a bunch of weed seeds that will then sprout, so really you need to till it all, wait a couple weeks, put down your soil amendments, and then till it again, so you are tilling under all the weeds that sprouted. Good soil amendments include well aged composted manure, mushroom compost, earthworm castings. Instead of peat moss you can just use some potting soil, which contains the peat moss and some vermiculite and usually some fertilizer and helps lighten up your soil. Not saying you need all of those things, just that they would be good choices.