JustThinking
Newly Registered

NEW to gardening Please Help

I am really new to gardening and just starting to break soil today with a ton of seeds in hand :P

I have a ton of little black ants in my bed. I have read that I can kill them with red pepper and paprika, although can't find a mixture recipe. Any advice???

Dillbert
Greener Thumb

>>advice

yup, foo-get-abbout'da'ants.

the most problem ants cause is "aphid farming" - ants like the sticky sweet residue left over by aphids - since you have no plants yet, "aphid farming" is hardly an issue.

not all bugs are bad and require immediate actions to kill deader than dead.

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

justThinking, (I try that once, hurt to much) :lol:

Like Dillbert, I would concentrate on the soil building and raised beds. Healthy plants is a good way to fight insects and diseases.
Last edited by DoubleDogFarm on Mon Apr 12, 2010 8:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

GardenJester

/channeling the inner stoned hippy

accumulate some good karma, man. All life are one, live and let live, man. :P

save up the good Karma so you can do some truly sadistic killing of slugs. :twisted:

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

Well, I need to play the duck card again. What Slugs!

[img]https://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h300/eric_wa/DSC02045.jpg[/img]

GardenJester

mmm... Yeah... I think my neighbors would have a fit if I start raising ducks on my property. After seeing me in my PJs armed with a salt shaker doing my early morning slug patrol, they already think I'm kind of "off". :P

JustThinking
Newly Registered

Thanks everyone!!! I won't worry about the ants :lol: So far haven't seen a slug :D

I am sure I will be back tomorrow with more questions :oops:

britzplc
Newly Registered

I just started my garden as well :D there are a couple catepillars but thats about it thus far. my veggies havent even sprouted yet. I am just worried about the squirrels.

JustThinking
Newly Registered