msmalls
Newly Registered

New to gardening. Any helpful tips?

Hi everyone! I am very new to gardening, and haven't a clue as to what I am doing. I figure I will experiment this year with container gardening. I planted grape and cherry tomatoes, along with hanging strawberries and I'm trying my hand at container bell, banana, and jalapeno peppers and cucumbers. All were bought as starter plants. Anu helpful tips? I'm really interested in whether or not the tomatoes should be pruned as some websites call for, and how would I go about pruning them? Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Dillbert
Greener Thumb

>>tips

yup, not everything is going to work the first time - despair not [g]
you'll never get a tomato if you don't try!

your containers for the tomatoes & peppers need to be at least 5 gallon size and have drainage holes. you'll need to pay attention to watering - they can dry out quickly - what kind of soil did you use in the containers?

try to keep the container itself shaded from direct sun. in a pot the sun can heat up the soil to the point the root system 'cooks' and the plant will languish.

to prune or not to prune a tomato plant has a long debate. in an "open garden" I never prune - which typically means pinching out the 'suckers' - odd branches that go off on their own. also there are two major divisions of tomatoes - determinate and indeterminate. the determinate kind reduces the stem/stalk/foliage growth after it sets fruit. pruning could cut your harvest. indeterminate types just keep growing and sprawling until the frost gets them - which could be a long season in GA. for a container plant, you'll probably need to prune back an indeterminate type to keep it from taking over the neighborhood.

peppers do well in containers - but watch as the plants can get quite large and if they bear abundantly you may need to support them (same with tomatoes)

Rob_NZ

Hi msmalls,