RyanDe680
Cool Member

Talk about celery

I planted the celery on February 27th (over 4 weeks ago).

Thus far, nothing has sprouted.

Now I know celery takes a good amount of time. I have kept the soil rather moist, as celery likes.

Any thoughts or suggestions? I wanted to plant every four weeks so I have a continuous crop, however at this rate I don't have anything...

applestar
Mod

This is my first year trying to grow celery too, but here are a couple of guides that I'm following:

The celery seeds I bought from Pinetree Garden Seeds came with instructions to pre-chill:
Celery: Improve germination: soak for 2~3 hrs., drain, paper towel dry, then freeze 1wk. Plant 1/4" deep.
Celery growing guide at Johnny's Selected Seeds:
Sow in early March or 10-12 weeks before transplanting outdoors. Sow about 6 seeds per inch, 1/8" deep, and keep soil moist and temperatures 70-75°F (21-24°C) if possible. Seedlings emerge in 2-3 weeks and then temperature can be reduced to 60-70°F (16-21°C).

Ozark Lady
Greener Thumb

My celery was up in 10 days.

But tiny, really tiny. It is now getting true leaves, on stems that look like hairs! No idea why it is so leggy, the other veggies beside it isn't.

I will try to transplant without breaking them, and bury them deeper.
My seeds are also from Pinetree.

RyanDe680
Cool Member

applestar wrote:This is my first year trying to grow celery too, but here are a couple of guides that I'm following:

The celery seeds I bought from Pinetree Garden Seeds came with instructions to pre-chill:
Celery: Improve germination: soak for 2~3 hrs., drain, paper towel dry, then freeze 1wk. Plant 1/4" deep.
Celery growing guide at Johnny's Selected Seeds:
Sow in early March or 10-12 weeks before transplanting outdoors. Sow about 6 seeds per inch, 1/8" deep, and keep soil moist and temperatures 70-75°F (21-24°C) if possible. Seedlings emerge in 2-3 weeks and then temperature can be reduced to 60-70°F (16-21°C).
Thanks.