bob_garden
Newly Registered

Lettuce and Onion Questions

Hi all,

First post :)

This is my first year ever doing a garden. I've been trying to read up on this stuff but have a few basic questions regarding lettuce and onions. I've created a raised bed, filled it with soil, manure, peat moss, and miracle grow, and have gotten some of my plants from local farmers, some from local nurseries, and some from Lowes :)

Question 1: How does romaine lettuce grow? I bought an already started lettuce plant and put it in the bed. Will I just cut leaves off of the plant as they mature, or do I let the entire plant mature and harvest it? Will this plant give me lettuce throughout the season, or just 1 single head of lettuce?

Question 2: For onions, I bought onion bulbs and planted those. Will each bulb mature into only one onion? Or will one bulb give me multiple onions?

Thank you very kindly,

Bob Garden

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Lettuce: You only get one head from a plant. You can rob a leaf now and then or take the whole plant. Your choice. I like to take the whole plant. Look at the leaf lettuces in the grocery to get an idea how they will turn out.

Onions: If you plant one set (small bulb) you get one onion bulb. It will be considerably larger though. Onions are one of those delightful plants that you can eat at any stage of its development. Plant plenty so you have some for green onions and some bulbs for fresh eating, and some bulbs for storage.

Welcome to the forum.

Cagolddigger

Romaine usually gives one time. I have had plants give me a smaller second yield. That was from cutting the plant higher up.

Other lettuces can give you multiple yields.
Some are Simpson, Bibb, Red Leaf, Oak Leaf & my favorite, Mesclun Mix.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

If you give lettuce some space and thin it this is what you can get. This is one plant. I would harvest the whole plant.

[img]https://donce.lofthouse.com/jamaica/lettuce_09.jpg[/img]

applestar
Mod