FreyOrganics

Zone 6! What have you started?

Getting super itchy for the spring since this is my first year starting from ALL seed.

Planned for the garden this year are:

Lettuce
-Muslcun
-Grand Rapids
-Loose leaf mixture (burpee)
-Lolla Rossa
Broccoli
-De Cicco
Watermelon
-Sugar Baby
Peppers
-Cardinal Hybrid Sweet
Cucumber
-Cross Country Hybrid
Tomato
-Big Boy
-Jubilee
Corn
-Jackpot Hybrid
Peas
-Little Marvel
-Snowbird
Beans
-Kentucky Wonder
Carrot
-Long Imperator
Pumpkins
-Jack of all Trades

Its a long list :lol: !! So far I have all 4 types of lettuce started and will be starting Brocolli today sometime hopefully! What does everyone else have started in zone 6?

Ozark Lady
Greener Thumb

I am zone 6b.
I have tiny broccoli, cabbage, brussels, and cauliflower, just peeking out. And I have tomatoes, and peppers just put in to begin germinating.
The herbs and flowers are waiting their turn in the plastic shoe boxes that I use to germinate in.

I bought 6 of these for a buck a piece, thought I would try it, in place of the expensive and fragile domes, and instead of the hassel of plastic wrap.
It is working very well.

I plan to direct sow: Onion sets, potatoes, peas, lettuce, and radishes, as soon as, I can get them planted... soil is too wet right now. Later in the season, I will also direct sow tomatoes and peppers, I just wanted some earlier ones.

And I am starting sweet potato slips inside to be ready for....(drum roll) warm weather... ha ha

Good luck with your gardening, seems your list is pretty good, a bit of everything.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I'm in zone 6b and I started the earliest things, slow growing perennials (rosemary and lavender), cold hardy annuals (broccoli and cabbage) back around the 20th of Jan. So I have cabbage and broccoli plants that are about 6" high and can go out whenever it stops snowing long enough to harden them out.