Decado
Green Thumb

Grow Lights, Where To Find Seeds, and When To Start Them

So I want to start most my plants this year and I'm wondering what the best choice of grow light would be. I'm going to start 50-70 plants so what kind of wattage would be best? Also would high pressure sodium or metal halide be better?

Is there a website that sells all types of seeds? An amazon of sorts?

Also, I'm in zone 4 so when should I start tomatoes, cucumbers, zuchinni, peppers, brussell sprouts, and green beans under the lights?

Tigerlilylynn
Cool Member

I can't help with the lights since I'm new to that too but I think it's better to figure out what kind of cultivars you are into and then hunting them down specifically.

For example, I could have gotten my borage at burpees but it was an epic number of seeds so I got a smaller amount through localharvest (which allows you to search several seed farms at once). While there I tripped upon southern exposure seed exchange that not only had my elusive ground cherry but free shipping! With that I found out what I was planning to get at the seed wal-mart and got them there instead.

As far as zones, I'm in 5 and am late to start my peppers, rosemary and lavender because I'm waiting on DH and lights.

resolutejc

Decado wrote:So I want to start most my plants this year and I'm wondering what the best choice of grow light would be. I'm going to start 50-70 plants so what kind of wattage would be best? Also would high pressure sodium or metal halide be better?

Also, I'm in zone 4 so when should I start tomatoes, cucumbers, zuchinni, peppers, brussell sprouts, and green beans under the lights?