Chris C

What's happening with my Eggplants?

I'm new to gardening this year. Strictly organic. One of the vegetables I've planted is Eggplant. The plants came up just fine and started flowering quite some time ago. Then I started getting my eggplant :D .............but they get up to about 3 1/2" in diameter and stop growing. :( They turn leathery and get soft and die. :cry: Here's a picture of one I pulled off a plant this morning:

[img]https://chris623.zenfolio.com/img/v4/p1030242155-5.jpg[/img]

Can anyone tell me if I'm doing something wrong, or if maybe my soil has too much or too little of something?

plantkiller

How does the rest of the plant look? How has your weather been and/or what kind of watering schedule is it on? Do you know what kind of eggplant it is? When I was shopping around and researching for what kind of eggplant I wanted to plant I saw one called I think purple blush where the fruit looked very similar to yours (it was a mostly white fruit with shades of purple/brown/black). Yours in the picture still looks a bit sick but the type of eggplant might be relevant.

Are you fertilizing it heavily (particularly anything high in nitrogen)? Excess nitrogen.. or drought or excessive watering can all cause problems with the uptake of other nutrients like calcium that are important as the fruit has set and is growing.

Just thinking out loud here. I too am new to gardening but I'm thinking if you added some additional info that may help some of the more experienced folks to chime in. I have been quick to find out how frustrating it is when your plants start getting "sick" so best of luck to you and hopefully someone can give you some direction in remedying the problem.

Chris C

Being a new gardener, I can't answer a lot of your questions.

First off, the plants look good. (though dirty due to splashing from the last rain) The eggplants look good too...........until they don't! :? :? :?