bridgemontbelle
Newly Registered

Fruitless Chilli Plants

Hi, Everyone. I'm growing some drawf chilli plants that are a mass of flowers and still producing more. They look very nice, but I was after chillies really. Can anyone tell me why my plants aren't fruiting - what am I doing wrong? They are planted in pots on the kitchen window sill. The flower stalks turn yellow and the whole thing drops off the plant. I'm new to growing things so any help would be gratefully received. :? :oops:

pharmerphil

Re: Fruitless Chilli Plants

bridgemontbelle wrote:Hi, Everyone. I'm growing some drawf chilli plants that are a mass of flowers and still producing more. They look very nice, but I was after chillies really. Can anyone tell me why my plants aren't fruiting - what am I doing wrong? They are planted in pots on the kitchen window sill. The flower stalks turn yellow and the whole thing drops off the plant. I'm new to growing things so any help would be gratefully received. :? :oops:
could be a multitude of things, but it could be over watering, not enough sun, temperature or insufficient pollination..
A little more info please :D

bridgemontbelle
Newly Registered

It could be any of these, though I don't think I've been over-watering them.
The windowsill gets the late afternoon sun direct, perhaps it's not enough?
Temps fairly stable in the kitchen. Don't know about polination...how do indoor plants get polinated? Should I just chuck'em out? Any pointers for next year?

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

blossom drop

Blossom drop, where the plant drops the blossoms without setting fruit, can be a reaction to a number of kinds of stress. Type blossom drop into the search box at upper left of most pages to find a lot more information about it.