garden5
Super Green Thumb

how to store harvested onions?

I have harvested my onions, let them dry 3 days, and now I want to know how to store them.

On a side note, my onions average the size of golfball to large-golfball size; has anyone else had problems growing store-bought size onions or is it just me?

Thanks for your help.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Put them in a mesh bag and hang them up in a dry place.

Diane
Green Thumb

My onions aren't any bigger than yours. It's my first year growing
them. :?

pharmerphil

We raise onion from seed.
Most sets you buy, the place you buy them can't tell you if the sets are long day , or short day variety. And thats step 1...Pick a variety thats for your area...Long day for northern gardens, short day for southern gardens.

Plant the seed in February inside in containers at least 4" deep, spaced at about a 1/2" apart.

Grow them out, if they get a bit long, give them a hair cut (cut the tops off) about a inch or two, they'll do fine...

As soon as the grounds ready, set them out, just deep enough that the roots catch the dirt...

I set them a hands width apart (about 4-5 inches) in rows a foot apart.

side dress with a good all purpose fertilizer for those that go that route, For Me, I go with humus, compost and good organic soil well amended and prepared for the plants.

Then there's not alot to do, keep them well watered..NEVER let them dry out, the roots are near the surface....

Soon, the bulbs will beging to rise above the soil, till You have what looks like softballs sitting in your garden.

The tops will fall over mostly on their own when the bulbs are about finished, if not, just GENTLY push them over.

when you pull them, let them lie on the soil for a few days to dry, then I move them to a drying rack to finish them up, and twist off the tops.

We store them in large used onion bags, gotten FREE at the supermarkets (just ask the produce man to save them for you)