gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

Applestar and me the only ones doing a fall garden or what?

So far I have only heard of applestar other than myself planning a fall\winter garden.

I started some seed in peat pots today. Than I went to Lowe's to get more peat pots and low and behold they had some fall veggies fresh off the truck, so take a wild guess at what I came home with. I will still keep my baby's going, I'll call it succession planting, yeah that's it, plus there will be a variety.

I'm going to put in Broccoli, Cauliflower, Arugula, Brussles Sprouts, Mustard, Spinach, Carrots, various lettuces, Peas, Onions, Swiss chard and Celery for now. :D

Anyone else out there doing a fall\winter garden. If so please post up what you are doing. This is my first time in the fall so it's a learning experience. Hopefully we can all learn from each other.

Dono

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I'm planning to put in a little bit of fall garden this year. It will be my first time to do that. I'm thinking just replace the spinach and lettuce and broccoli that I grew in spring that have been done long since. Maybe put in one double row of peas. I don't have very much sunny gardening area. As it is my next task in the garden will be to take a chain saw to a couple trees, so that I can keep the sunny area I do have; they keep getting bigger and shading more. So maybe next weekend plant a few seeds for fall...

Zofiava

I'm doing a smaller scale fall garden. It gets bitter cold here, so I think I am limited as to what I can do.

gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

Zofiava wrote:I'm doing a smaller scale fall garden. It gets bitter cold here, so I think I am limited as to what I can do.
Ah yes, 2 more to add to the club.

Things like spinach and I believe brussels sprouts can withstand a hard freeze. Spinach can overwinter and produce a early spring crop as well, double bonus. Get experimental you never know. Most of the items on my list are said to taste better AFTER a frost.