stella1751
Greener Thumb

Question about Soaker Hose and Alternatives

I can no longer place the hose in my front squash bed without chancing an injury to one of the huge leaves, stems, or blossoms. I need to put something semi-permanent in there, something inexpensive that I can just hook up to my garden hose when it is time to water. I'm thinking soaker hose, but I've never used one of those before.

Do they have holes all along them? If so, won't a portion of them be watering the outside of the bed?

Are there any other options? Here's what the front of the bed looks like. I'll be hooking up the garden hose from the back, probably over the chain-link fence:

[img]https://i801.photobucket.com/albums/yy292/mitbah/squash_2.jpg[/img]

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Soaker hose does usually have holes all along it, though I think you can find them with some of the beginning length unperforated. But you can always hook up a regular hose in between for length extension so that you can put the soaker hose just in your bed. Otherwise since it's just one bed, just carry your watering can out there and just pour water on the plant roots.

PS there are no dumb questions! :)

applestar
Mod

I have lengths of soaker hoses as well as regular hoses that have met their demise over the years -- lawnmawer, weedwhacker, garden fork jab, shovel slash, etc. I just cut them to lengths I need and inter-connect them with clamp-and-screw hose mending kits from Ace hardware. I even go from one raised bed to another this way with a regular hose in between. Some soaker hoses have actual holes along their thength, others just "weep" (very low water pressure needed). The ones with holes can spray out of the desired area -- I mostly lay the hoses with holes facing down and cover the ones that spray with some mulch to keep the water where I want.

stella1751
Greener Thumb