lin'sgraden
Newly Registered

preping soil for new vegetable garden next year

Hi All, :D
Thanks for a great welcome! I'm pretty new to vegetable gardening, and I want to put in a vege garden in next spring. Our soil is pretty sandy and very ROCKY.We live just north of Stanwood WA. We are thinking of planting, pumpkins, corn, lettuce, peppers, peas, onions and garlic. Any and all advice will be welcome. Lin

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Best thing you can do for sandy soil is add lots of organic materials and compost. Start your compost pile now (if you haven't already). In the fall I mulch everything with lots of fall leaves and then crunch them up a little and trowel them under in the spring. Sandy soil with lots of organic material added = nice loose well draining loam, the best.

ROCKY is a little harder, you can spend a lot of time pulling rocks out for years, they seem to sprout new in the soil every year. Or for small areas you can frame up raised beds and dump good enriched topsoil on top and then it won't matter that there are rocks in the underneath area.

lin'sgraden
Newly Registered

Thanks for the info.
If we do a raised garden area, how deep do we need the beds? Our vege garden area is about 12' x 70', with sun exposure all day long (well as much as we get up in the NW). Oh, so with sandy soil, you add organic material. So what is the sandy soil lacking for a good garden? I have started the compost, but what kind of fertilizer if any would I purchase?

splat42069

For fertilizer I use MG all purpose for vegging, then switch to MG tomato plant food, its got a higher P-K for fruiting.

Its just what works best for me. Pretty much you hafta play with it each year til you find something that works. Gardening is a new learning experience each year.

Good luck man

Gary350
Super Green Thumb

How much land do you have?

How large will your garden be?