ShannonC
Newly Registered

How to preserve summer squash?

Any information on preserving summer squash? I would love to have any canning, pickling, or freezing information. This is my first year growing squash and I love it! I hated it for most of my life, (due to being made to consume it daily as a child!) Now I really want to take this into winter with me. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated :D

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Enjoy it in season. I have not found a good way to preserve it. Tried both freezing and bottling (one time only). It just ain't the same.

applestar
Mod

I wonder if it would work if you breaded them (flour, eggwash, seasoned bread/cracker crumbs) THEN froze them...? Has anyone tried that?

Another way that I think might be good is to make ratatouille with them, THEN freeze the ratatouille.

My first year growing them too -- I'm growing yellow squash, zucchini, and pattipan squash. No flowers yet for me though... I was a little late planting the seeds.

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

You can make pickles out of zucchini. I don't have my recipe handy just now, but there are many online. :)

The West Virginia University Extension Service has this article online about preserving summer squash:

https://www.wvu.edu/~exten/infores/pubs/fypubs/wp399_99.pdf

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

(*true confessions* time...)

I read Amy Dacyczyn's Tightwad Gazette books when they came out, and I still read them from time to time. Her advice is timeless.

She and her family had a large garden in Maine, and harvested MANY POUNDS of zucchini every summer. It was beyond even the capacity of an 8-member family to consume all of their zucchini fresh, so Amy developed a solution:

--Shred the raw zucchini, and then
--Freeze it in ziplock-type bags. Lay them down flat in the freezer and then, once frozen, they'll stand up on their own.