BabyGartner

How and when to fertilize container-grown vegetables?

I am very new to gardening and this is my first attempt. I planted seedlings in peat pots in mid-March and after the seeds sprouted and were slightly hardened out I transplanted them (early May) to 1 gallon pots. I did have a problem with the peat pots and thought the roots wouldn't grow through them so I actually got rid of the surrounding peat pot and transplanted each plant into their new soil and container without the peat pot. 4 weeks later nearly every single plant is flourishing! :)

Trouble now...
I want to keep my babies growing but don't want to neglect feeding them nor do I want to overfeed. I used some Blood Meal to mix in with the soil when I transplanted the seedlings 4 weeks ago. The package says the feed lasts up to 3 months... Should I feed more or less often? Which plants need which fertilizer? Anyone have any advice? Tips? THANKS!

Plants include:
Beans
Carrotts
Zucchini
Various herbs (oregano, parsley, cilantro and basil)
Tomato
Roma Tomato
Peppers

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Personally I really don't do a whole lot of fertilizing after everything is settled in. The herbs especially don't want it, they are used to growing in poor soil. The tomatoes and peppers would be the heaviest feeders in there. But even for them, after the soil is thoroughly warmed up, I pull all the weeds, put a top dressing of compost down and then a layer of mulch and then I pretty much leave everything alone and it does well. It's one of those things about whether you are setting out to break records or whether you want an ordinary productive garden. The top dressing of compost and the mulch will gradually break down and keep feeding the plants. And my soil is pretty rich from years of adding compost and mulch...

Incidentally you were right to get rid of the peat pots; they are plant killers!

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

Oops! Sorry! No message. :oops:

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb