banana
Newly Registered

Can I place seedlings outside?

I started my seedlings late. they are all about 3 or 4 inches tall right now..some of them JUST starting to get their first set of true leaves.
I know I should have started them earlier but things got in the way and it's my first time starting seedlings indoors.

Anyway, it is now warm enough to put them outside. daytime temperatures around 70/75 and nighttime temps around 45/50.

My garden bed isn't quite ready to start plants from seed outside so my plan is to grow my seedlings inside for a few more weeks while I finish preparing it.

My question is: since it is warm enough outside...would it be okay to just put my seedlings outside where I know they are getting enough sunlight? They are starting to get a little leggy and think they might benefit from being outside but I was warned not to since they were started in such a controlled environment inside.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Yes definitely. You want them to be ready once your ground is ready. HOWEVER, don't do it all at once. I start a ton of stuff indoors and where I lose the most plants is in the transition to outdoors. Start by putting them out somewhere protected from wind and direct sun. Then gradually expose them to more direct sun, starting with a couple hours at a time and building it up... They've been babied so far and their stems aren't as strong as outdoor plants. Stiff breezes are as damaging to them as too much sun. And probably bring them back in the first couple nights. With a week or ten days of gradually getting used to the outdoors they should be okay to just leave out in whatever kind of environment they are going to stay in.

Gary350
Super Green Thumb