tashtego_jwm
Newly Registered

When to harvest and eat squash?

Yep, I'm still new at this so pardon if this belongs in the dumb question category javascript:emoticon(':D')

My crookneck squash and zuchinni are growing and have plenty of shoots, but doing so at a very slow pace, in fact so slow that they appear to be either be eaten by slugs I keep killing first, or going bad because they are on the ground. ?? Both plants are quite huge in size, in fact larger than I thought they'd get. I have raised beds with a drip system that waters at 9 am and 5 pm. I fertilized 3 weeks ago with liquid seaweed/kelp.

Do you pick the veg when it's still young? Do they need to stay off the ground? Help me get a clue :)

Thanks

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

Yep, pay close attention to the squash that are on the ground, perhaps slip some paper under them. Also watch for fungus/mold from the blossom. Plucking the spent blossom will sometimes save a squash. Picking young is smart and will keep the plants producing much longer.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Squash need an insect pollinator. Bees will do the job if there any around.
If the female flower doesn't get polinated, the little squash just shrivel up and turn brown.

Squash blooms in the morning and then the flowers fold up. Go watch your squash while the blossoms are open and see if there are any bees around. It is possible to hand pollinate. Pick a male blossom and visit the female blossoms with it to spread the pollen.

The male blossoms are on a long stem and often bloom above the canopy of leaves. The female blossoms are on short stems and are down under the canopy. You can see the ovary which develops into the squash.

I can't say for sure if this is the problem, but it happens quite often.

Crooknecks are best when from 4 to six inches. Zucchini from 6 to 10 inches. Pick them young and tender.

atascosa_tx
Cool Member

I like the stuffers myself...