jason9111
Newly Registered

NEED HELP WITH VEGETABLE PLANTS

I am kind of new to the whole gardening thing, but this year I decided to give it a try. Went to a local greenhouse, bought a bunch of plants, peppers, cantaloupe, squash, tomatoes, okra, eggplant, and some watermelon. I made a garden using raised rows, really just for neatness and not knowing any better considering my soil is not very sandy. Tilled everything up, put up a nice fence to keep rabbits, squirrels, and neighbors dogs that they don't keep on a leash out. The garden is approximatly 16'x20' with the rows being 16' with about 2' space between each row. I just planted all this stuff, with the exception of the watermelon. After seeing the spacing, I decided to stick that somewhere else. My entire garden receives full sunlight and I water at early morning. This is my setup from left to right:
1st row - Tomatoes (8)
2- Cabbage (8)
3-Empty
4- Cantaloupe (4)
5- Squash (4) opposite end of cantaloupe (spacing)
6- Okra (8)
7- Green peppers (4) & Eggplant (4)
8- Habanero (4) & Chili peppers (4)
9- Empty row

This is the problem. I am looking for something to plant on the final empty row and I would like to know how you all feel about this layout. Completely new to the gardening thing. I lost my whole garden and had to replant all of this after overfertilizing. I changed a few things but pretty much left it all the same. Also, every afternoon around 5pm the plants look like they are just starving for water. I just planted them about 3 days ago and have watered them every morning very well. I don't know if I need to put some mulch or something around them to absorb a little moisture. They look limp, but after I water, they perk up. Thanks for all your help.

chefshelle

Hi Jason! Welcome to the forum! Sounds like you are off to a good start.