Pypersmom

Tips for my first garden...

Come one come all... What tips or tricks can you give a new gardener?

What I've done so far:
Built two 8X4 boxes
Started seeds (corn, green beans, onions, peppers, dill, carrots and cucumbers) --- Growing great! All have sprouted after 10 days! Some are a few inches now!

Next, I'll be buying garden soil for my boxes.... But from reading other threads, do I need to line the boxes with a thin plastic since I bought treated wood?

Once my dirt is in place, I was going to plant some of the larger seedlings.... What I don't know about is... watering? fertilizers? pesticides? What to use and when? Do I need to mix anything into the garden soil?

Thanks!
Ashleigh

James282
Cool Member

Hi Ashleigh - it sounds like you are doing great for your first garden!

I have never used raised beds before...so I can't help you with the the question regarding plastic liner. Intuitively it sounds like it wouldn't be a bad idea, but I would have some concerns for plants that require a lot of drainage. I would consult the expert advice of one of the many folks here who primarily use raised beds :)

As far as your other questions - I know it can be overwhelming! The best thing to do is treat each plant individually, and consider the needs of each type of plant before planting. Some plants will require an inch of water per week or more - while some herbs will prefer less water than you'd get in a typical spring where I live! Placing plants with similar sun/fertilizer needs/soil/water requirements close to each other will save you a lot of headache later on. I personally use this book: https://www.amazon.com/Gardeners-Guide-Growing-Organic-Food/dp/1580173705/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1240253068&sr=8-2