kylie77

Started my squash and cucumber too early.

I'm VERY inexperienced, and eager! I started a pile of seeds but now I've done more reading etc... I realize I've started my cucumber and squash too early. What can I do if they're ready to go outside before it's warm enough for them? I'm so shocked at how quickly they've grown, and they look great, at least to me. Any advice would be great.

My last frost date is May 1st. I started them about 8 days ago and they're about 4+ inches tall already.

Thanks!

BrianSkilton
Green Thumb

Squash seem to grow very quickly and spread out quite a bit depending upon if you got a bush or vine variety. If you have a green house that is heated that would be the best place to store your plants until it is nice enough outside. I am fairly new to gardening, but I remember we planted pumpkins and squash around the last week of may and harvested them around Sept, and the last frost date for us is around May 17. If you want to save your plants you better have a lot of room somewhere near a south facing window, and you might be able to plant towards the middle to late April, if you cover your plants on cold nights. In all reality though, it would probably be easier to buy some more seeds and just start a little later, since they are so easy to grow, its really up to you though. Hope this helps.

kylie77

Thank you. I don't think I could bring myself to throw them out :(. I was planning on keeping them in containers, at least some of them anyway. Would it possibly work to put them in the containers when they're big enough, and keep them out during the days, and bring them in at night?

I plan on starting more seeds at the 'right' time anyway. This is all a big learning experience to me, and a lot of fun. I do want to try and keep the plants if at all possible though.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb