applestar
Mod

summer squash recommendation?

Summer squash is one veg I've never tried growing. Mainly because it's not a veg that I'm overly fond of. But maybe that's because I've never had homegrown? I love the way the plant itself looks -- very architectural.

So, I'm debating. By my estimation, I have until 4/M to start seeds indoors if they're as hardy as cucumbers/watermelons, or until 4/E to start if they're need to wait a little longer like melons. Or I can just wait until 5/M~5/E to direct seed.

So what's your fave? Zucchini? Yellow squash? Pattypan? Varieties? (I prefer early maturing since this is my first try.)

Thanks! :D

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

I like both zucchini and yellow crookneck. I have grown the scallopino type, but was not impressed.

I feel it is a waste of time to start them indoors. Just plant seed where you will grow it. Plant on your average last frost date. I plant 5 seed in a small circle about 10 inches in diameter. This is called a hill whether you actually hill it up or not. If your soil is fertile the plants will get pretty big and cover an area up to 6 feet or more in diameter. What I am saying is they need some room.

Kenzie

A little off topic, but what does 4/M, 4/E and so on mean? (Sorry, I'm new to all this)

We're trying two varieties of squash this year...Straightneck Early Yellow and Yellow Summer Crookneck (I'm not sure if there's much difference in the two...that was just the two types that were available at WalMart and we're doing a lot of trial and error growing this year) I don't much care for squash, but my family loves them. I'll probably try growing one on a trellis and a few on the ground to see which works best.

elevenplants