mbaker410

Insect Prevention?

Ok, I am getting prepared this year to combat some of the issues I had last year and wanted to see if there were any preventative measures I could take against the following insects...

-Aphids
-Ants
-Caterpillars (I think from the White Butterfly)
-Tomato worms

Last year I had a small issue with worms on some of my tomatoes, the caterpillars ate the living daylights out of my broccoli, and the aphids simply attacked my seedlings when I put them out to harden. Ants just helped the aphids fight my cukes.

I am looking for tips on compliment gardening, flowers, bird houses, protective measures, etc.

Any help is great!

thanks.

Earl K
Green Thumb

I am new to gardening but have read that marigolds help keep insects away.caterpillars and butterflies I don't know.good luck

mbaker410

That's funny because I was just reading a post about that and I think I may do that this year. I may plant them around the perimeter of the garden where possible.

I might even try to include a bird feeder of some sort but don't want attract birds that will try to eat my tomatoes! :(

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

Bugs are rarely much of a problem for my garden. If the plants are growing vigorously, then they can give a great crop in spite of the bugs. Squash bugs are perhaps the most aggrivating. Between succession planting moved from one area of the yard to another, protecting the plants with screen cloth when young, and hand picking and destroying the eggs, the bugs are mostly manageable.