stratacat73
Newly Registered

Growing onions from the Grocery Store!

Hey! I am a complete novice. I have never grown anything in my life, until now. I was about to throw away the bruised onions on top of my microwave when I noticed that one of them was growing green Sprouts out of the top. Figuring it couldn't hurt, I put the bulb in a plastic container of water on the windowsill in my kitchen. within two days, what appeared to be a root system began (re?)forming on the bottom, and the greenery is getting longer.

How do I proceed with this? I know I Should find it some soil, but it appears that there may be more than one plant coming from the bulb. Should I separate them? Can I get the soil I need from a nursery? What kind of fertilizer should I use, if any. If I want to grow more, I guess that I have to sprout the offspring of this plant unless I wanna plant a whole bag of onions (Ha ha ha!) or grow from a smaller set. The onions came from Easterday Farms in Pasco Washington.

I am looking forward to comments, as I have pondered starting a garden from grocery store fruits and veggies before but never did anything about it until now.

Furthermore, I have a related, yet broader question:

Can edible foods be grown from what I assume to be genetically altered starters? What are the consequences of this?

Stratacat

BrianSkilton
Green Thumb