WAYNE BODKINS

ASPARAGUS BED

I HAVE BEEN GIVEN ACCESS TO AN ESTABLISHED ASPARAGUS BED THAT IS APPROX 10 YRS OLD AND HAS BEEN AN HISTORICALLY GOOD PRODUCER. I AM NEEDING TO KNOW WHEN TO CUT THE FERNS OFF AND WHEN TO FERTILIZE, WATER, ETC. ANY HELP IS GREATLY APPRECIATED!
:D THANKS
KANSAS GARDENER

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I'm not an expert, maybe you will hear from others that are, but in my experience you would cut all the ferns down in the fall after they've turned yellow, to keep asparagus beetles etc, from over wintering in them. Asparagus is a heavy feeder. You would want to lay down a heavy layer of manure or compost right after you quit harvesting and then again in the spring. In the spring you want to be sure you are not piling too densely to keep the sprouts from coming up through it. An established bed you can pick all of the thick stalks until june-ish. Water regularly through the growing season, unless you've gotten plenty of rain. Anybody that knows more than me want to add/ comment. I have a small asparagus bed I just planted last year, haven't really gotten to the "established bed" part...

2cents
Green Thumb

WB
rainbow has good ideas.
I'd stick with a heavy feeding once every other fall or medium feed every fall. Well after they start to turn yellow. Horse manure is fine cow would be better. Chemical fertilizer can also be helpful(few here will suggest using chemicals). I'd cut the ferns in November/December and give to anyother gardener to compost who doesn't have asparagus, or just mow/mulch.
If they are in raised beds, yes you may need to water, but I only would during extreme drought(30+ days no rain). They have extensive root systems and usually are okay without water for established beds. They grow asparagus in Western Peru, the most arid place on earth.
Is this bed weed free or what is the layout and weed/grass situation? This can affect the feeding cycle.

Rainbow do you think you will have a harvest this year?