SlipperyPete
Newly Registered

Need help growing for the first time

Hey, my situation is as follow. I'm a student in an aesthetic course and for a project, I want to grow a plant that is either curious looking or that would be interesting to grow. The plant does not necessarily need to be exotic and I would prefer if I could buy the seed in person (not online). I live in Orlando, Fl just in case anybody has a place I can buy seeds.

I started today the process of trying to grow Emerald Artichokes (I bought at Home Depot). I have five seeds that are currently under two T12 lights, they're 2 feet in lenth. I plotted them in rockwool (bought at local hydro shop). Since I just started them, I did all the basic setup but I'm not sure of the habit I should pick up in taking care of them.

-I would like some recommendation of how much water/nutritient I should put. Any recommendation of nutritient. I've read that as seeds, the light should be on 24 hours. After that, I'll leave the light on 16-18 hours a day. The light is currently 3-4 inches above the rockwool. Also, how much water do I put each day? I read for some plants, to just wet it until the water is dripping from under the rockwool/plot.

-Is this plant to hard to maintain in Florida? I've heard that they don't fare well with the climate, but it's indoors and pretty cool in here.

-Is there a plant that is better for maintaining for a beginner? I have about 2-3 months to nurture the plant. I don't need the plant to be mature, but big enough to mark it as a distinct species (by the design of the leaves, or stalk for example)

-My uncle uses newspapers outside for his garden to stimulare oxygen, does this work inside?

applestar
Mod