TerraceGardener
Newly Registered

Leaves turning Yellow

Hello, I am new to gardening. I started growing some vegetable plants in my terrace garden in a raised bed but all my plants growth stunted and leaves are turning yellow and dying. The growing medium consists of Vermi Compost, Cocopeat, Red Soil and Neem Cake in 1:1:0.6:0.2 ratio and I am watering the plants twice daily. Attached photos are of young tomato and Eggplant plants. Please advice. Thank you!
Attachments
Tomato
Tomato
Tomato
Tomato
Eggplant
Eggplant
Eggplant
Eggplant
Eggplant
Eggplant
Eggplant
Eggplant

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Looks malnourished.

I don't know what "Red Soil" is and I am only familiar with Neem as a spray oil , against pests and fungus. I don't have any idea how it would function in soil.

That's a pretty high ratio of peat and peat is difficult to work with in soil. It adds no nutrients. It sucks up and holds water and then dries out and repels water.

Most potting mixes, especially for very young plants like yours have a third or so of mineral ingredients like perlite. That helps promote drainage, keep the soil loosened up and fluffy.

Have you been fertilizing?

applestar
Mod

Good points, though I believe neem cake and vermicasting can provide some fertilizing component. I also think they look a little dehydrated -- or overwatered and roots are having difficulty with uptake -- despite (or DUE TO) the twice daily watering. How much water do you give them each time, and so you check and make sure that the amount of water has soaked in? For 2nd watering, do you check to make sure they need it before watering?

Vermicompost and cocopeat/coir should be water retentive when sufficiently soaked. Red soil -- is that a type of clay?

If they got dried out and lost some of the roots at some point, the plants might look like that as well.

TerraceGardener
Newly Registered