Azieboo
Newly Registered

What is attacking my collard greens?!?

Hello, I'm new to gardening and have a few collard green plants growing in containers. Lately I have noticed holes in the leaves and today I found some small white bugs on the leaves which I'm guessing are cabbage aphids.
Does anyone know exactly what could be attacking my collard greens and what natural products can I use to prevent anymore damage? Thanks. *** update. I went out to take pictures of the plants and found a white moth and little green caterpillars on the plants.
Attachments
20160620_173135.jpg
20160620_173350.jpg
1466458477793-1824284395.jpg
1466458214603-778397591.jpg
20160620_124116.jpg

imafan26
Mod

I think the holes are probably from cabbage butterflies. The insects are nymphs are aphids. They will suck the plant juices. Cabbage worms will be green and easily blend in on the leaves. During the day and evening look for white butterflies or moth hanging around the collards. Bt will take care of any cabbage worms and you can use insecticidal soap or alcohol on the nymphs.

RadRob

Where are you at, post your location in your profile for better help. With that said it's too hot in 90% of the US to grow them and if they do grow they will be bitter. They always grow and taste better in cooler temps and a light frost will make them a little sweeter. The little white moths look like whiteflies to me, use what Imafan said.

Lindsaylew82
Super Green Thumb

Yes, I agree Cabbage Butterfly And their wee babies, Cabbage Worms.

BT and row covers.

I live in SC. Collards are a lot more heat tolerant than some of the other Cole crops, especially if it gets a little shade. I'm still growing kale and lettuce in my less sunny front yard. The damage here is not from bolting, it's from insects. While it is nice to know where you are growing your plants, and it is rather helpful, I think it's not really that necessary in this instance. ;)

applestar
Mod