Donna nola
Newly Registered

Leaf issues with bugs watering or disease?

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie here and I have some problems in my garden. I'll first share the background of my planting.

I have some vegetables growing from the ground and others in containers in the same area. The plot of ground is new and is/was majority clay. I tilled it and added some compost I made over the previous summer and winter. I also added some MiracleGro organic garden soil. I transplanted the seedlings from indoors successfully. I added my own pine mulch between the rows to control weeds and deter worms. I figured the needles and the crushed egg shells would be a mine field for soft critters. The pot containers were filled with the organic garden soil. The last garden container I planted got the royal treatment of hummus and manure (store bought ready mix) and the organic garden soil. The bottom of this container is open to the natural ground which is clay about as hard as cement. I fertilized everything with organic granules fertilizer from a big store. One bag was listed for tomatoes and vegetables, one was just all purpose organic, and the last one was for citrus trees. I planted marigolds on both sides of the garden to deter mosquitoes.

My garden flourished with huge green leaves and no bugs. I was a happy camper. Everyone that passes by admires the success in our hard to grow area. Well, just when it was close to time for all the veggies to appear and be harvested, the bugs showed up with the ants.

My first two issues I resolved. My carrot leaves had a white powder on them. I sprayed them once with a vinegar solution and the problem was immediately solved --at least as far as I know above ground. The second issue was when the lettuce was ready to be harvested, some of the plants had black aphids in the center leaves. I sprayed them off and harvested and triple washed. And I lived to tell about it.