NewbieGreenThumb
Newly Registered

Help identifying black bugs that are ravaging my turtle bean

Hello,

I'm relatively new to gardening and have decided to start with turtle bush beans which I was told is a good beginner plant. Unfortunately my beans have been ravaged by a particular bug I just can't seem to identify. Any help identifying this particular bug would be greatly appercericated.
Attachments
20160409_124437_resized.jpg
20160409_124407_resized.jpg
20160409_124352_resized.jpg

HoneyBerry
Greener Thumb

Might be aphids.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

It always helps to tell us where you are located.

The pictures aren't much help for ID'ing your bugs. The only one where a bug is visible as more than a dark splotch is the last one. The bug there could be some kind of fly, but it could be a winged adult aphid (aphids have a complex life cycle and the adults can be winged or wingless.)

In the middle picture, the mottling is consistent with the kind of damage inflicted by sucking insects. That could be aphids, leafhoppers, thrips, stink bugs/squash bugs, and others. If you have squash bugs, you would know it, because they are very large, black, ugly bugs, about the size of a nickel.

Aphids and leafhoppers are small. Thrips are minute. Leafhoppers are usually green, aphids come in a variety of colors. The aphids I am familiar with are yellow or green, but I know there are black ones. In order to have a lot of damage from aphids, you would have to have a lot of aphids:

If your bean plants were covered in aphids like that, you would think you would be aware of that.

If it is aphids, they are soft bodied insects that mostly just sit there. They are susceptible to being squashed or to soapy water spray.

What is all the white crystalline stuff on the leaves in the bottom picture? Have you already tried treating your plants with something?