LaineyLR
Newly Registered

Insect netting?

Hi! I'm fairly new to gardening. This is only my second year vegetable gardening and my first post on this site :) I have a mix of container and raised beds. There is something munching on my eggplants and I'm thinking of covering them with netting and was wondering what the cheapest route would be. Can I use mosquito netting or does it have to be netting specifically for gardening? Thanks!

GardeningCook
Greener Thumb

Your best bet would be lightweight (aka "insect weight) floating row covers.

Unfortunately, you'll have to keep that in mind for next year. If you put the covers on now, all you'll be doing is trapping the pests inside, giving them a wonderful hotel/spa environment to continue their munching. Floating row covers need to applied right after seeds are sown &/or seedlings are planted. To cover yours now would be a waste of time & money. Sorry. :(

If you can identify the pest pestering your eggplants (most likely Flea Beetles), perhaps try an organic insecticidal soap. Safer brand has worked for me.

imafan26
Mod

Send a picture of the eggplant damage. Some insect damage is easy to id even if you don't see the pest. Check under the leaves for larvae and eggs and if you don't see anything go out at night with a flashlight. It is especially good to go out after it has rained. The night munchers are usually most active between dusk and 10 p.m. The other time to go out would be in the early morning in the half light before the sun comes up.

pepperhead212
Super Green Thumb

Welcome to the board!