WatchMeShove

My Pitcher Plant is dying. :(

Are the carnivorous cups seasonal? Because they're all dying but the plant looks healthy otherwise. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Attachments
IMG_9437 (4).jpg
IMG_9437 (4).jpg (42.17 KiB) Viewed 5033 times
IMG_9436 (1).jpg

RamonaGS
Green Thumb

I am not an expert on pitcher plants, but found a simple article. Says from May to October they should be given lots of water, and should be distilled and aerated water. It says you can even keep them in standing water, and you should be filling the "pitchers" with 1/2 in to 3/4 in with water. And have you been feeding it insects? I'm posting the link to the article I was looking at. I hope it helps! I have not been brave enough to try keeping a carnivorous plant. I'm a chicken, LOL

https://www.wikihow.com/Grow-Pitcher-Plants

applestar
Mod

They are fascinating looking, but I haven't had the courage to try to grow hanging pitcher plants either. People seem to go to extraordinary efforts to grow them at home, and it's a hobby of its own. Especially due to the "hanging" nature, you seem to need not only a humid, daytime/nighttime temp controlled grow area but a grow room with hanging space... Or temperature controlled outside greenhouse (can't get too hot or too cold).

I've spent good many hours surfing youtube videos of affictionados. :roll: :wink:

I only have Serracena purpurea, which is native to my area and can be grown outside in the ground. They live in bogs so I put it in my rain garden, and only thing I do for it is to water with de-chlorinated water if there is drought and no water is coming down the rain spout. I've been told that if it may not live for more than a couple of years since it needs nutrient starved condition of a bog, but it seems to be doing OK so far and comes back every spring after the pitchers have died in the winter.

Sorry I can't help with your plant.

RamonaGS
Green Thumb