Health Nut
Newly Registered

Organic marigolds??

Hi All,

I just stumbled upon this site while searching for some answers to my newbie questions... This is my first year doing a garden much less an organic one. I have a plan ready for my plants which includes marigolds. I plan on getting them in the soil this weekend but I am wondering if planting non organic marigolds with my organic veggies/herbs is ok. After being so careful with what I put into the beds I would hate to have residual pesticides getting into my soil from the marigolds but I know what a benefit marigolds can be with pests.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Traci

Dillbert
Greener Thumb

Re: Organic marigolds??

here's a flash of reality from a 50+ year organic type....
you are not required to believe or agree.

"organic seeds" are bunk.

doing things organically entails husbanding the soil and avoiding chemical pesticides / garden products.
specifically chemicals which basically "kill everything and let God sort out the bad bugs"

a marigold grown in the least organic method sets seed. at most there is a surface coating on those seeds of all the nastiest chemicals in the universe. how much of that "horrifically contaminated" seed coating survives seed maturation, or storage time last season to now, is hugely debatable.

a non-organic seeds / plants are not inherently poisonous.
the existence of hybrids / GM crops / etc is actually not related to the organic gardening approach.

Susan W
Greener Thumb

If you are going for certified organic, answer is No, and you would already have that in place. For regular home garden, organic (mostly), just plant them! Presuming these are greenhouse grown plant starts, may or may not have pesticide. Yes, there's non-organic fertilizer in that bit of dirt. Will it mess up your garden? No! (I am not meaning to be smart-mouthed or snarky, pardon if it comes across that way.)