bwhite829

I've got a hypothetical question.

Okay, so after reading over a couple posts about neem and tobacco and their pesticide properties, and learning about compost tea, I'm wondering if you could hypothetically make a pesticide tea in a similar process and spray it on crops? I'm just wondering how you'd go about doing that. I'm new to gardening and have no experience so I've still got alot of questions.

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

Tobacco can be steeped in water (I don't remember the recommended length of time) and the resulting "brew" used as a pesticide. It can be poured on the ground or sprayed on plants, but it has to be handled very carefully. It's a very poisonous concoction. If you get it on your skin, it will soak right through and make you extremely ill.

Nicotine pesticide is a very old method of controlling garden pests. Like any pesticide, however, it kills good insects right along with the bad ones. Because it's homemade and "natural", people often fail to realize just how dangerous it is. If a child or pet got into the stuff, it could be fatal.

bwhite829

would it seep into the fruits/veggies you spray it on, or is it safe to eat after it is washed really well? and would you use rubber gloves or something?

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

I can't speak authoritatively about whether nicotine insecticide soaks into the plants. I've heard that it doesn't, and I would guess that is because most plants have a waxy coating to help protect them from losing too much moisture. That's why most homemade insecticide recipes require the addition of soap, to keep the water from beading up on the surface of the plants. Warm-blooded animals don't have such a protective coating, so the chemical can penetrate the skin easily.

I have read that nicotine insecticide can be used shortly before harvest, so it apparently does wash off.