kwl11
Newly Registered

Please help! cactus turning yellow

Hi hi! I have a small cactus (about 4cm tall) that isn't doing so well and I'm have no idea what's wrong with it. My sisters gave it to me as a gift. It's been doing well for the past two years, up until this summer when it started turning yellow from the base (since I took the picture yesterday, the very bottom has started turning pinkish). I thought it might be rot because it is somewhat soft, so I took it out of the pot but it isn't as squishy/smelly as expected. My previous cactus died of rot/overwatering, so I've been really careful with this one, only watering it once every two weeks and making sure the pot has a drainage hole.

I also considered corking, but it doesn't seem hard enough and the cactus has shriveled some. I've also wondered if it's just general stress (I'm a university student so I had to take it home for the summer and bring it back to school).

So I'd like to know 1) what the problem might be and 2) if there's a way to save him. Any help would be much appreciated!!
Attachments
IMG_7383.JPG

Gary350
Super Green Thumb

Do you know the name of your cactus? Yellow on bottom is no problem.

There are basically 2 types of cactus, low elevation desert cactus and high elevation wet weather cactus. If you have a desert cactus it is most likely water sensitive. If you have a mountain cactus it most likely can take, snow, ice, wind, rain, blizzard, and 100 degree weather too.

No matter which cactus you have they both like slightly moist soil but not bone dry flower pots. Desert soil and mountain soil never get totally dry as dust down deep there is always continuous moisture in the soil. Letting a flower pot go completely dry for 2 weeks is not good.