plutus1947
Newly Registered

Planting Cactus Seeds

Hello all Cactus Lovers,

I am a newbie to this Forum and to cactus growing and I am sure I will be delighted to meet you all.

My question is regarding the initial planting of Cactus seeds.

I have searched this Forum but do not appear to be able to find a definitive answer with regard to the way to plant them and to water them, although I am sure there are answers I simply can't find them.

I am going to use a proper Cactus compost and will use a layer of Vermiculite as a top dressing.

I would really appreciate step by step instructions as to how to prepare the compost, plant the seeds and above all how much water to give newly planted seeds and how much during their germination process.

I have read several informative comments about the planting of these seeds but they seem to vary very much. Some suggest soaking the compost in water until it is waterlogged and then let it drain before planting the seeds and some recommend microwaving the soil prior to planting whilst others say plant the seeds in the compost, place a thin layer of Vermiculite over the top and lightly spray the pot.

Perhaps the experts here will be able to advise me as to the right way to plant these darling seeds.

I will be extremely grateful.

imafan26
Mod