Ma Osawaw
Newly Registered

Help my cactus/succulent is dying

I do not know what this species called, but it's dying or rotting. I nursed it back to health, but I don't know one side seems to be turning to a sickly colour and weird discolouration spots that appear on the skin near the soil.

I know that the pot is a bit to small for my plant. I can't repot it since the plant is beginning to flower and I was told to not repot it since it's flowering.

The plant survived 2 months being locked away in a dark room for almost two months, and I only managed to get a few weeks ago so I have no idea how to care for this plant. Since I'm kinda new at this.

The room I have it has a bright window, but only gets sun during the late afternoon is that enough sun light?
Attachments
image.jpg

mulderitsme
Location: Central Valley, California, zone 9, container/patio gardening

I'm new to gardening and succulents/cacti as well, but what I do know may help, so bear with me.
Considering it was locked in a dark room for so long you may need to wean it back into the light with at least 4-6 hours of indirect light. I don't know what type it is, so I don't know if you should gradually put it into direct light after that, but I would start with indirect light just to be safe. Make sure there are drainage holes in the pot and use cactus soil so it has even more drainage. I would probably rotate it every so often since it's in the window. Don't water the plant, just the soil. Allow it to dry out in between waterings so you don't over water it, that's the easiest way to kill cacti/succulents.
I almost killed my aloe when I first got it for that very reason.
I hope I helped, if not I'm sure there are more seasoned gardeners that have better advice than I do. Good luck!

AnnaIkona
Greener Thumb

I agree with mulderitsme. Gradually introduce the plant to light and make sure not to over water it. I water cacti once every 3 weeks...

Ma Osawaw
Newly Registered