voddak
Newly Registered

Help my cactus please!

Hi,

I am new to cactus.. and plants in general! I grew up in a concrete jungle.

That said, I brought a couple of cactus from Egypt when I was there.. back to Germany.

I put them all in pots with soil and watered them. Ù‹Plants need water and soil, right? I hope I didn't do anything wrong so far. They seem to be fine except for the bunny ear cactus.

At first the whole root chopped off.. then I did some research to find out that they grow new root systems easily, they just need a good water source to promote that.

I then put the cactus in a new pot and it is only getting worse!!

Here are the pictures...

is there a way to save the pool fella? Some kind of plant CPR?
Help!!

--
Voddak
Attachments
:\
:\
poor thing
poor thing

Sweyn

What kind of pot and soil did you use? Bunny ears cacti are normally easy to grow.

voddak
Newly Registered

Have a clay pot, and universal potting soil from the hardware store mixed with very little sand.

ElizabethB
Super Green Thumb

Remember that cactus is a desert plant - very hot and dry. Get rid of the pot saucer. Use a cactus or succulent mix or else add a lot more sand to your soil - more sand than soil. Water RARELY. Your cactus may not be salvageable. The bottom - where it will root - looks mushy from excess water.

Better luck next time.

Sweyn

voddak wrote:Have a clay pot, and universal potting soil from the hardware store mixed with very little sand.
Is the pot unglazed? That's important because it allows the soil to drain quickly enough. Succulent plants don't like to be in pots and soil that stay wet.

You also need a soil that does not hold much water. That means you should not use ordinary garden or potting soils.