JB Goode

Possible ID of this unknow plant (Euphorbia obesa)

Hi everyone

I realize that everyone here are very skilled and know their plants and I'm a total novice but if you don't mind, I'd like to get some information on a plant that I have if that's all right with all of you. .
I've included 2 pictures and would like to give a little history.
This plant that I purchased about 5 yrs ago was a perfectly round plant between the size of a golf ball and baseball. I never knew what it was because someone had pulled the ID tag and threw it away. After about 1 yr it started growing very slowly into the shape you can see. The plant now looks very beat up( brown vertical scars--narrowness in the middle) because of moving changes, climate changes, being kept in a wrong temperature. I almost threw it away. I've never seen another plant like this again so I never could identify it. 2 yrs ago, 3 nodules started growing on it very slowly in the middle area of the plant. Notice the 3 white marks in the middle of the parent plant. I left the plant alone thinking that more would grow. That didn't happen. Each of these nodules were duplicates of what the plant looked like when I bought it. Each were the size of a large marble. About 6 mts ago, I removed the 3 nodules and planted them beczuse they stayed the same size ( marbles) . In a short time they started growing in the same shape as the parent plant. The mother plant is now approx 8 inch high. Each of the nodules are now about 1 inch high.
My questions are this.
1---does anyone have any idea what the name of this plant is?
2---does anyone know whether this plant looks like a cactus or a succulent?

On the mother plant, every summer, some tiny little hairs come out on the top of the mother plant. They look like some type of extremely type of flower will grow but they always die within 2 to 3 weeks but that's not bothering me.

Thanks for any help you can give.

Dave