ttarpcire

Is there any hope for this White Pine?

I am hoping someone can help me figure out why this guys needles are going brown. I dug it up last year and it was in its native soil through the winter. This spring the soil wasn't draining very well so I transplanted it to get better drainage. Lava rocks in the bottom and normal potting soil. I looks like its drying up but I am watering it when the first inch of the soil is not sticking to my fingers. It seems to get worse every time I water.
Any thoughts?
thanks
Attachments
20160427_211435.jpeg

HoneyBerry
Greener Thumb

Here is my response. I am not a tree expert, but I have did do some research a while back to help with my own tree solutions.
A healthy pine tree will have some dead needles. These older needles are on the inside part of the branches and are shed in late summer and early fall. The tips on the branches of a healthy tree are the newest needles and are greener. If there is an excessive amount of dead needles, especially at the ends of the branches where the young new growth should be, it is a good indicator that the tree is sick and ailing. There is more than one possible cause - drought stress is one of them, but so is waterlogged soil. Other possibilities to consider are nitrogen deficiency, insects, air pollution or other types of diseases. It will take some work to pinpoint the exact problem. Something to consider is that transplanting is very stressful for a tree. It takes time for a tree to recover from transplant shock. If the tree was diseased and weak to begin with, it will need even more time to recover from transplant shock or it may not recover at all. It is important to transplant correctly and at the right time of year. It seems like you did not transplant at the right time - fall is best. Spring is not the best time to dig up and transplant a tree that is rooted in the ground. It is important to preserve as much of the root as possible when you dig it up.