Victrinia Ridgeway

Essay: The States Of Bonsai (With photos)

The following is a series of observations based on real world experience and study under the guidance of my teacher (Daniel Robinson) and others. Consider it, in a fashion, as an Intro to Bonsai Horticulture 101/102. This will not reveal anything earth shattering to those long in the art… but to those who do not have easy access to advanced practitioners or still find it all a bit mysterious, it may be the beginnings of an understanding that will grow with your own experience.

In fact… though I am an advanced student, I make no claim to having all the answers, and acknowledge that none of these concepts I am about to put forward are all encompassing to all bonsai. So I invite exploration and conversation about any and all of it… even disagreement… as it will lead to clarity all the way around. I may not explain something well… and will even venture to say there are likely important omissions and the specific needs of bonsai are as varied as the species we grow. But when we engage in the exchange of ideas and experience, we all tend to be better for it. My hope is to encourage all of our growth by thinking of how our trees grow in a way that is more holistic… and how the things which we do (both intentional or not) effect the whole tree.

Please also note... this essay was written from the perspective of my experiance, which is focused on outdoor species. It should be read through that understanding.

The States Of Bonsai:

[img]https://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j192/theladysabine/Bonsai%20Forum/Blackpine9531sm.jpg[/img]