57ChevyChick

Mold in compost ?

I am VERY new to composting and this is probably a stupid question but is this normal...or is it too wet ? I'm using a 32 gal trash can that I have put holes in all over, including the lid and bottom.....I noticed yesterday that there was some mold on top of some greens....I'm having alot of trouble rolling the container without the darn lid coming off....the instructions that I followed recommended to roll the container once a wk.....I'm going to get my pitch fork out and try that way..... thanks for any help

Nogol

ya...I get mold in mine too, I was wondering about the normality of that as well....hopefully someone will answer our question

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

I continue to repeat, compost has three basic requirements: organic material, air, and sufficient but not excessive moisture. The trash can composters that I've seen seem to 1) have limited openings for air exchange, 2) make it somewhat difficult for thorogh mixing, to decrease density and increase oxygen available to all parts 3) provide for an environment where the moisture will easily become excessive. Make adjustments such that your mixture is loose, not compacted, damp but not wet, and includes a mix of brown and green organic materials. You can always dump the contents on concrete or a hard surface turn thoroughly and then replace in the container. While the material is out, make a judgement about the balance of materials, moisture level, and density. Make adjustments where necessary.

Anyone with a large enough yard would be better served to locate an open compost pile in an out of the way location. If animals are a problem, place the compost inside some kind of wire or screen enclosure.
Last edited by hendi_alex on Sat Aug 09, 2008 7:41 am, edited 2 times in total.

57ChevyChick