QQ

davevarga
Newly Registered

QQ

Hi Newbie here, I am a landlord and have two composting questions. Because of a request from a tenant I have been providing 'composting services' in that outside I have provided a medium size composting container that is inaccessible to 'night life', yet has a great number of 1/4" holes in it for airflow. The container is 3 cubic feet in size. She has coffee grinds, possibly egg shells and a great amount of vegetable and fruit scraps because for some reason about a half of what she buys, she ends up discarding. So there is a goodly amount of volume. But I digress... All of the scraps are put in a pretty 'bio-degradable' plastic looking bags, and then they are placed in the composting container.
After 4 months of a warm winter, the containers continue to hold these pretty bags and are not decomposing and inside the bags there is not a lot of breakdown. My opinion is that the composting process is not happening fast enough. I suggested to my tenant that she place her scraps directly in the container to speed up the process. That does not work for her.
Question 1: Would the composting process go quicker without the biodegradable bags?
Question 2: Once I have fully composted matter, can I use it around the property, around plants and small trees without it attracting rodents? If the answer is no then maybe I would need to dig a hole in the ground and put the compost in there with regular dirt on top of it.

applestar
Mod

I think it’s great that you are trying to accommodate composting as a service to your tenants! 👍

For people who are really new to the process though, sometime more hands-on approach might be needed, and you may need to establish some ground rules of what is expected of them as well as what you are willing to do as additional regular maintenance and periodical reset labor either yourself or by having someone do the work?

In this case, I see a couple of possible obstacles —