sownongoodsoil
Newly Registered

Need Help Starting a Compost Pile

Okay, I'm needing some advice here...this is my first year gardening and I'd like to make a compost pile but I have a couple of questions. We have a very large garden (20' x 60' right now, could get bigger) and it doesn't seem to me that a typical 3'x3'x3' compost bin would suffice. Am I wrong? So then I thought, well, we could build like three or four together...would there be a problem with having them all next to each other? I am planning on using some old wood to build a crate-like style. My other question is, do I have to create it all at once? I read somewhere that you can't add a little at a time; that you have to have all the materials and then layer them together to make a good compost pile. So if that is true, what do I do with all of the kitchen scraps I want to save until then? I feel slightly overwhelmed ...please help! Thanks in advance. :)

J-veg

First, welcome... there's a lot of info in these pages, in fact you could get lost for hours looking poking around...

You can make it as big as you want, and put the three piles where ever you want (just remember that it is a rotting pile of stuff so upwind from your bedroom window might not work).

If you want to do something like add a 0.5 - 1" layer of compost over your entire garden then the 3x3 might be a little small. This will tell you how much amendment you need for a given area and depth:
[url]https://www.gardenplace.com/content/calculator/mulch_calc.html[/url]

There are two classes of compost ingredients

greens: fruit & vegetable peelings, grass clippings, etc

browns: leaves, sawdust, straw, black and white shredded newspaper

Basically you add "stuff" to the pile as you come across it (so after dinner the veg waste goes in the pile, or after lawn cutting or leaf raking).