Marley
Newly Registered

dog poo

Hi All :?:

I am a newbie from South Australia (see more info in Intro Yourself) and ample dog poop.

A dog composter is available from $150-! and way beyond budget. They also are rather small and work as a worm farm. I would have enough poo to fill this in a week.

Google recommends enzymes and a variety of composting bins available in the USA which is not available here.

Currently, I am putting the poop in a large plastic bag (that held potting mix) with some 'hot' hydrated lime to break it down, but have no idea if it will work, or how much lime to use. I do not have a compost heap because of the size of the yard, proximity to neighbours, and everything in the yard is visible. I have also read it is not a good idea to put dog poop, or any meat eater's waste in a compost heap.

If the hydrated lime works, how long would I expect to see results? Will it break down to crumbs or liquid? For me, this is completely experimental.

I intend to spread it thinly and dig it into the dirt I am trying to rehabilitate.

Thank you
Marley

ronbart

I know what you are going through. We have 5 dogs. I made a composter out of a bucket that worked pretty well. Take a bucket or trash can that has a lid. Cut the bottom out of it. Dig a deep hole that the container will fit into with it sticking a few inches out of the ground. You put the poo in the hole with a little of the enzyme that you use in septic tanks. The enzyme will break it down to be absorbed into your soil. You will have to add the enzyme every 3 to 4 weeks. This method has no smell but you may have to put a rock or something on the lid to keep out inquisitive critters. Next spring I am going to get a few chickens and plan to feed them soldier fly larvae that will eat the poo and I will feed the fly leavings to red wiggler worms to make castings I can use in the garden. You can find both processes on youtube.

toxcrusadr
Greener Thumb