gardenjenny
Newly Registered

Tips on How to Use Horse Manure for Compost

I am getting a huge truck load of horse manure this week and I would love some tips about how to use it. I've only been gardening 4 years now so compared most most of you I'm still a newbie :) My current garden is about 12'x12' and my plans for this load of manure is to let it compost until spring and then use the composting spot to plant another garden plot.

I do know to leave it piled up with a tarp over it to let it compost before using it in the garden but here are a few other questions:

I have read that horse manure is great for non-flowering or fruiting plants like lettuce or corn. I will grow some lettuce but I really love growing peppers, tomatoes, and cucumbers. Is there anything I can add to this pile that will make it more suitable for fruiting plants?

Horse manure is really "hot". Will it be hot enough to kill seeds from old weeds? I have quite a few big weeds growing in areas on our property that are too steep to mow.

Anything else I should know?

toxcrusadr
Greener Thumb

Not sure what you mean by hot as there are multiple definitions. Hot as in high nitrogen and can 'burn' plants - this can happen with any fresh manure that has not composted yet. But I assume you're talking about hot temperatures, in other words, if you put those weeds in the pile with it, will it kill the seeds? The answer is yes, if the pile is hot enough and large enough to retain the heat for awhile. Also the outside edges are not as hot so make sure the seedy weeds are near the center, or at least get turned into the center during the hot phase.